Egg Laying

WHAT, made a male southern hawker think that balancing on top of my ear, clinging there making a noisy clatter would be conducive to getting a shot in focus? Unnerving is the word I would use, not to say tricky when standing on fast sinking vegetation on the pond. Shaking my head a few times he got the message and I could continue getting shots of the female laying her eggs on the iris leaves but with damp socks. 

I had been playing with him a bit by opening my camera bag so he could look inside. Hawkers are so full of curiosity that I knew he wouldn't resist and he didn't; time and time again checking it out.

The leaves on this badly neglected pond had numerous empty larval cases and my Extra shows just one. I am presuming it is from a southern hawker as those are what were whizzing round mating and fighting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.