Nest

I am expecting a delivery of logs today and while getting ready I found this nest under the base of the logstore.

Can someone identify what made this?   I suspect it may be a rat in which case I will put some poison down  However we know we have a hedgehog visiting our garden and I wonder if it could be a hedgehog nest.  I dont want to poison any hedgehogs.

UPDATE - It is a hedgehog.  I had a look inside the nest and there was a hedgehog rolled up inside.  I'm so pleased!

I have relocated the whole nest plus occupant to the 'des res' hedgehog house at the other end of the garden.  It's very posh with a slate roof but was unoccupied last winter.  I hope he/she likes it and doesn't get upset by the forced move.  I have put some hedgehog food by the door.  I presume this is just a daytime nap as I would have thought it's too early for hibernation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.