Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

New Moon


I saw the moon anew
And on it a wish I made
If only it could have come true
Then, you might have stayed

But instead upon that Autumn eve
Where moon shone new and bright
You sadly said you had to leave
That we had only 'till first light

So gently then in my arms you lay
And gave kisses many and sweet
And thought we not of coming day
Nor of night-time's bitter defeat

And I in turn did love and hold
And roll you in a warm embrace
Speaking words incautious and bold
Not wishing to leave that place

And realised I, no matter the cost
No matter how far I might fall
'Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all



Terry Rhiannyr
November 2012


With grateful thanks to Alfred Lord Tennyson for

the closing lines

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.