It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

Selfies are so last century

This is my maternal grandmother, Sylvia, known to by brother and I as Nana. The photo was taken when she joined the WAAC in 1917, aged 24.
I have her war album, and its clear from the photos in it that the selfie was alive and well during WWI. She wouldn't have approved of social media or having her face shared among people she'd never met, but as she's been dead for 46 years I'm willing to take the risk.

In extras are two selfies from her album:
The man is my paternal grandfather, William. He and Sylvia were friends during the war and kept in touch afterwards; in later years introducing my parents to one another. You could say it's Hitler's fault that such an ill fitting match was made, or you could say that parents shouldn't meddle in the affairs of their adult children, or both. 

The second selfie is of Nellie. I have no idea who Nellie is and never will. 57,000 women joined the WAAC and 50,000 records were lost in WWII, so there is no hope at all of finding out who this friend of my grandmother was.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.