Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Job done

Well here we are, the penultimate day of August and everywhere you look on the nature reserves you notice how summer's done its work.  I have never seen the hedges so stuffed with berries.  Does that mean a hard winter, or is it just that it's been a good summer?

This is one of the empty seed cases produced by knapweed.  I've always loved how they turn into another flower shape and have this metallic shine.  Behind it is some seeded marjoram.

Now I'm tired.  I've walked a long way over the hills.  It was lovely though.  The sun was shining and I saw a couple of kestrels and a red kite.  Kites have only recently made it as far as Winchester, so that's a treat.  What else?  Oh yes, I disturbed a rabbit and a herd of snotty-nosed sheep.  They didn't look entirely well to me but presumably someone has that in hand.  And there are still butterflies, lots of blues, though rather old and tattered.

Okay, that's me.  Have yourselves a lovely evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.