Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

More kulcha

..than art!

So BobsBlips WidWed challenge today was 'Art'.  Ah, I thought, let's go into Southampton to the City Art Gallery - lovely wide light space, photos allowed and a fabulous permanent collection.  In fact I knew just the shot I wanted to get.

But no!

I arrived at 3.10pm to be told by the receptionist that the gallery closed at 3pm.  What???  She really enjoyed saying it too.  So not to be beaten I went round the corner to the John Hansard Gallery (where I was fairly sure they would be less keen on photos, but the odd sneaky one...).  You're right, they have no permanent collection, which I knew, and were between exhibitions, which I didn't.  So nothing to see.

Both galleries are part of the city's new Cultural Quarter, joined together by the Guildhall Square, the Universities' art departments, the Guildhall, library, etc.  In this blip the building on the right is the back of the art gallery and library and behind me was John Hansard.  All the same the nearest thing I could get to art were these BMXers and skateboarders, just 6 or so in this whole enormous space.

Not really what Bob meant, I guess, but by the time I found out, I'd been skunked and had nowhere else to, ahem, magic up today's blip.  If you'd like me to reference a couple of artists, though, so it fits more with the theme, I'd say Lowry (not enough figures, but they are the right size) and de Chirico (the quasi classical architecture).

Yes, I'm joking.  Sort of.  There we are.  Many thanks for hosting, Bob.  And a happy evening to you all  xx

WFW11 RESULTS
Hearts in no particular order:
Kersko
Lesley Alsford
BikerBear
Kimb
Mole

and Honourable Mentions to:
OSuzanna
Diane2104
TheBroon
Admirer
ExtraTime

And well done to everyone.  Thank you so much for joining in

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.