Don’t Mind If I Do!

Another emergency blip! No other decent pictures taken today so this will have to do! I bought 3 ‘variety packs’ of these little Häagen-Dazs ice creams this summer (on sale!), and am slowly treating myself to them. This one I think is my favourite!

I watched a fascinating documentary way back in the early 90s about ice cream and how they successfully marketed these new ‘up-market’ luxury ice creams and created a ‘need’ out of nowhere. They also gave the history of this brand and how it’s just a made up name - it doesn’t mean anything! Also, they talked about the ‘war’ between Häagen-Dazs and Ben & Jerry’s and how they differ in product and as a company (I definitely prefer the latter!). It was a fascinating programme - done by the Open University, I think. I’m sure I recorded it, but it got lost somewhere along the way. I guess it made an impact on me if I can still remember it so well! I wish I could find a copy! I’m sure it must be in some OU archive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.