Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Flight path

My blip is taken in the very early hours of the last day of August to serve as a reminder of a spectacular electrical storm that was going on somewhere near the Black Sea. Loads of orange/yellow lightning that went on for all the 7-10 minutes it took us to fly past it. I've never seen anything like that, and to see it from the safety of an aeroplane, possibly a hundred miles away, was very special.

I meant to look up the weather when I got home, but seeing as there hasn't been anything in the news about any damage or loss of life from a fierce electrical storm in Eastern Europe, I think it might be a common occurrence. It made me appreciate the job of a pilot even more. They must see some amazing things in the course of their work!

BA now use the 777 on the Dubai-London route which is brilliant. I love the 747 but I love the 3-3-3 seat configuration of the 777 more. On this leg, G had the window seat which she loves, and I was in the middle. The flight was fine but for some reason, neither of us could sleep.

G managed a couple of hours, but I was awake nearly the whole time. My reward was to see a sunrise! That was spectacular. G was able to get some shots of the Zagros Mountains in Iran and then later aerial shots of Dubai as we came in to land.

The temperature at 8:15am was 33degC, so it seems there has been a drop since we've been away. Cooler temps are always welcome! We got home just before 10 am hoping to be at a church meeting but didn't get there. Too tired!

We've both unpacked and G even cooked a meal. I have to say, it's great to be back in this flat. There's so much more space! G had to reacquaint herself with the TV system and came across CNN when flicking through the channels. They were relaying John McCain's body coming to Washington to lie in state, so we watched that. So glad we caught that, but even more incredible, Aretha Franklin's funeral was being relayed live at the same time!

Being on holiday when she died, I've missed out on a lot of tributes etc. so I am so glad I'm getting to see her service. In fact, four hours on, it is still going on. I may have to call it a day and catch it on Youtube later. Two very apt send-offs for two remarkable people on the same day! If you add in the fact that both Madonna and Michael Jackson were born in August 1958, this has turned out to be quite the month.

(I'm falling asleep, so I'm going to have to tidy this up tomorrow!)

PS. I've posted one of the shots that G got from the plane... the view is one familiar to us on the road - the area we go for our BBQs. The development you see in the distance is the newly opened Dubai Safari (which we have yet to check out)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.