Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Grrrr

I didn't get to bed until 3am this morning - having watched to the end of Aretha Franklin's funeral, so I was not quite ready to wake to go to church with G. [G told me later in the day that the Queen got her guard to play RESPECT yesterday during the changing of the guard. How cool is that?]

Got a few things done in the flat; then G said we should take my car out for a run as Pauline had already indicated problems with the battery and starting.

We set out around 5:30. The car took some coaxing to start, but it got going nicely. We thought it might be a case of running it and allowing the battery to charge. We drove to Motor City and back and then coming back into Dubai, I could feel the engine losing power and had just enough time to move into the hard shoulder when it completely stopped. AAGH!!! So annoying!

G put my little triangle out, and the recovery truck came soon enough. We drove straight to Volvo. It all seemed very smooth and straightforward but I am not so happy to be getting so familiar with riding in a recovery truck!

We got an Uber back home - it was cheaper to do that than get a local taxi. We stopped to pick up a biryani from a local place that people often rave about. (It was the first time for me.)

And it is the 1st of September! Last four months of 2018 already. Amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.