Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Grand entrance

This is the only picture I was able to take on my camera before the battery died. I wish I could have gone back to the car and left the camera there, but it was a bit too far to walk to in a hot car park.

We watched Christopher Robin today (at Mirdif City Centre). It was entertaining. I can't help wondering why the sudden resurgence of Winnie the Pooh. Just last year, they released Goodbye Christopher Robin. The theatre was so empty when we went in, we decided to sit one row behind what we'd booked.

Next thing we know, loads of people are coming in (late) and the folk who came and sat in ours, turned out to be friends from church! No-one asked us to move.

What should have been a quick grocery shop after that turned out to be a fight for consumer rights and having to insist the hypermarket honour offers they advertise. We point out the mistakes and they expect the customers to understand that someone has made a mistake with the barcode. In a store with thousands of products where prices change by the week, I can understand this, but given that it was the second time I have picked them up on the exact same mistake; well, it took thirty minutes, but I managed to get 24 bottles of sparkling water for just over £2! I seriously doubt this will be the last time the same error occurs.

The rest of the evening was quiet! School starts for G tomorrow - she's sad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.