Lunch Time

Thank you so much to all you lovely blippers that gave me hearts for the sunset Cityscape yesterday - I was very pleasantly surprised.  You are all very kind.

Today I visited my Mother at her Care Home near Bury St Edmunds.  I hate the journey - it's tedious, full of traffic and seems to go on for ever.  It used to take around two hours but now it's almost always closer to three hours - each way.  This morning I tried a route I used to use a lot but haven't been along for a while - WRONG DECISION!  So much traffic and so many hold-ups I was despairing.  And I needed not to be late.

I had arranged with the Manager of the Home to take some photos of the dining room for their website so I had a time deadline of 12.30 when the residents start to be brought in for their lunches.  The extra long journey meant I was late - I did some shots anyway but I was working around the tide of advancing wheelchairs and zimmer frames; I'll take the camera with me next time I visit and hope the traffic is kinder.  My mother was a bit surprised to see me in the dining room when she was brought in!

I ended up having lunch with her - it was surprisingly good so maybe I'll do that more often. Then I took her out in the grounds where she loved feeling the sun on her face; she had a little doze whilst I sat with her.  Time then to get her back inside for the game of Bingo with other residents and head home - the journey back was much better and the sort of time I would expect.

I so admire the staff in these care homes, as some of the residents are challenging and very demanding.  They do their best in difficult circumstances and seem to genuinely care for their 'patients' keeping them safe and happy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.