Real Life

Even Hollywood couldn't make today up.....

Part of my job when I go pick up a loaded trailer is to make sure the load is secure - and as I was looking... something didn't seem right

My first customer is one of those that won't even talk to you until your appointment time, so I parked in the normal holding area. From what I could see through the windshield, things didn't seem to be going well..At my appointment time , I checked in and found out...
One person quit a few days ago
One person called in sick
One person didn't show up to work

While waiting to be allowed to back in a few customers stopped by to pick things up. A soccer mom picked up a dishwasher that her husband was going to install this weekend, a couple young boys picked up a chest  freezer because hunting season starts soon, and then this 40 plus year old pickup rolls in and a guy that either had a hard life or was really old, came by to pick up a new water heater. I don't know what was holding this truck together between the rust, the mold and mildew and... Anyhow since I was the only one standing around he started up a conversation.. He was really upset that his wife put dent in the other day.. he didn't know what to do as this was the first dent this truck had.. (there were rust holes in this truck). Luckily for me his hot water heater showed up and away he went...

Then after I backed in the owner looked at the load and mumbled to himself, took out his phone, made a call and said a few choice words.. Ya see, they loaded washers on top of refrigerators and... They ain't supposed to do that..But between him and I we got the job done and away I went..

Last customer - After I backed in the owner looked at the load, made a call, said a few choice words and then the crew started to unload the trailer. At this customer, I assist in down stacking only and because of how it was loaded they had a person in the trailer documenting every little detail of what was wrong.. Oh and I heard his life story...

His car was impounded because he was driving on a suspended license. He borrowed a friends car and that got impounded along with him being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. He was working two jobs because he had child support payments each month for two children with two women and he wondered why he was alway out of money... 

After unloading he took all the details of damage and potential damage to the owner who proceeded to write a book and a half to cover himself if product was actually damaged so he didn't have to pay for it. 

After I made a few phone calls to cover my own backside, I proceeded to take that book and a half, jumped in the truck, and spend the next three hours going 60 miles (due to holiday traffic) back to the company yard..

To say i's TGIF is an understatement.. I'm looking forward to a long weekend with celebrating my nephews birthday with family (it was last month but this is when we all could get together) on Saturday, Seeing my dad on Sunday and and do nothing on Monday...

Being philosophy Friday, I just really like this quote.

 "You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it." --Maya Angelou

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.