Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Fisherwoman

We won't see a white heron on the rocks today. A fisherwoman has taken prime spot. We saw a heron Thursday. Today after helping a family researcher sort out which is their family plot at the cemetery we ducked down to the wharf. But the wrong sort of fisher was there. However I got my blip.
As Blipmate is away at the moment I walked through Thorps Bush and on to the Woodlands Canal walkway this morning. Lots to see- tui in the kowhai tree, cattle in the paddock across the ditch and then drama as the cows grazed too close to a pukeko who has her nest in the paddock. Three pukeko flew at the offending beast as it saw the longer grass round the nest. Much screeching and flapping and after one quick chew it stepped back and round but then the whole herd were moving in. I tried to take photos in between "oh, no" and explaining to some cyclists going past.
The eggs must have survived as she was sitting on them again as I came back later. But those cattle will be going round and round day and night. I shudder to think. I have put one very fuzzy photo to show how close it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.