Discombobulated

The combination of a bank holiday, Mr RIU working a shift pattern totally alien to us and yet another difficult week at work left me not really knowing whether I was coming or going when I woke up today.

As I returned from my dog walk a neighbour queried the bins that I’d lined up the night before. He said that he thought that they were not being emptied on the usual day because of the bank holiday. I was convinced but left there there anyway as I headed off for a swim.

I’d organised my swim kit the night before too, not wanting to disturb Mr RIU who would be sleeping when I wanted to leave the house. As I took it from the boot of the car I realised that I had no towel.

The pool isn’t that close to home that I wanted to return for one. Fortunately I had a picnic blanket in the car too and even more fortunate, it wasn’t too fluffy.

I arrived home and found that the bins had been emptied.

I’d told a friend that I would be sending a smug selfie in the morning to celebrate a successful fast but the lack of towel left me with a less than smug feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.