SILLY SATURDAY - IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!

Come on now, be honest, did you, or I, for that matter, really think that I could upload a photograph without writing something to go with it?  Now that would have been really silly!  The fact is that whatever is on my mind, or in my brain, gets quickly transferred, mainly because I am still a fast touch typist (the only thing I could do faster than my sons on the keyboard!)

I received in last Saturday’s post, an envelope addressed to “Mrs HCB” but must confess I had no idea who it might have been from.  However, when I opened it, I laughed, because it was from a fellow Blipper, Green56, who had been to visit us a few days before.  She had already sent a “Thank You” card, which I have also put in this shot, with a photograph of Mr. HCB and me underneath our garden arch that she had taken whilst going on a conducted tour of the garden, so I was very surprised when I opened the envelope to find another card, together with an expanding “fly/wasp swat”, that is actually a keyring too.

The card read : “Dear M, Saw this and thought of you - it expands.  Am sure you will keep it in your handbag for those pesky wasps or to keep Mr. HCB in check!!! Lots of Love C. xx

You need to know that when C came, we sat in the garden to have our meal, despite it being rather chilly, but the wasps were rather troublesome.  How thoughtful of her - and she obviously knows that Mr. HCB does need to be kept in check at times - or is it the other way round?  You decide.

The background with the bees and flowers are on a disposable tablecloth and I saw these on the tables when I was at the “Wake” for Hilary yesterday - I asked the lady who was in charge of the catering if they were just going to be binned, and when she said they were, asked if I could have one and explained about my Blip for today - her husband then kindly said “Don’t have one of those, they’ll be all creased up - have a new one that’s still in the bag.”  How kind!  Of course, we don’t swat bees - just in case anyone is worried.

Anyway, here is my offering, courtesy of my lovely Blip friend, Green56, for Silly Saturday - and of course, you were all right - there is no way I can put up a photograph without writing something.  However, in honour of “Scroll Free September” I am going to try and just look at my emails just once a day - ha ha ha ha!!!

The birthday card from friends with this quote is still sitting on my sideboard - and my birthday was 9 months ago - actually if I let them know, it would save them buying me another card in three months' time!!

“Life’s too short 
     to be sensible
          all the time!”

P.S.  Mr. HCB didn't go to cricket this morning, as his team only needed 4 wickets and the other team need 377 runs to win so he and Keith didn't think it was worth going all the way to Bristol.  He has been out in the garden picking produce and you can see from the extra, he has a BIG smile on his face - his prize Tromboncino is 41 inches long or 104 cm and you can see his sweetcorn in the background.  How am I going to get that in my fridge?  I guess it's more chutney making for me so it's a good job my friend, Heather and her husband have just popped in with some more jars!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.