WALKING AND TALKING

After feeling so down yesterday, Mr. HCB and I had a long chat about various things and I felt much better - and thank you to all those who encouraged me by their kind comments.

We decided this morning that we would go out for a long walk around Coate Water, a local country park, quite near to where we live, and I was determined to use my Panasonic camera and not my iPhone.  Panic set in when I switched on the camera only to find that it said “No Memory Card”!  Thankfully, there was another card in the camera case in the car, so Mr. HCB went back to fetch it.

We used to walk around Coate Water quite a lot before I had my knee issues, but I haven’t walked round there for almost three years, so it felt good to be able to do it again.  It’s a circular walk, round a huge lake and it felt as if I had walked 20 miles by the time we got back to the car, but according to information on the internet, it is 1.67 miles and my iPhone registered just over 5,000 steps - just shows how wrong you can be!

It was good to be out together to enjoy the beauty all around us and to chat as we walked.  I took quite a lot of photographs, so need to sort them out, which I’m not very good at doing.  Sadly, although Mr. HCB took his binoculars, there weren’t many birds around but I like this shot of him by the lake, as we were on our way back taken with the “artistic” setting on my camera. 

I want to thank Mr. HCB for not only being a willing model, but also for walking at my pace - which I know is much slower than he would normally walk - but he never complained.  I guess that’s what a good relationship is all about - doing things together but at the pace of the one who is slower.  

Don't walk behind me; 
     I may not lead. 
Don't walk in front of me; 
     I may not follow. 
Just walk beside me 
     and be my friend. 
Albert Camus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.