LOOKING FORWARD TO A DAY OF LAUGHTER

Feeling a bit “down” this morning, for all sorts of reasons - one being that I watched “Long Lost Family” last night on television. This is a series that aims to reunite family members after years of separation and it always upsets me when people are looking for a long-lost father, especially as, after my lovely father-in-law, with whom I had a wonderful relationship, died in 1977, I searched for my real father.  

After my parents divorced, contact with my father had been very spasmodic and I last saw him when I was about 5 years old in the early 1950s.  I eventually found out that he still lived in the Lake District, but despite sending letters, photographs, Mr. HCB phoning him, and finding out that he had had no other children with his second wife, he didn’t want any contact with us, then died in the mid 1980s, never having seen me, Mr. HCB or our two sons, which has always been a real sadness to me.

However, some good came out of the search, as I found a cousin and his family that I didn't know existed, and we are still in contact.

We planted this clematis, Astra Nova, earlier this year, and it now looks now as if it’s past its best, which just about sums up how I feel today - so although I am feeling rather tearful, tomorrow is another day and I’m sure I will feel better.

When I was younger, I learned many scripture verses from the King James version of the Bible and part of Psalm 30 verse 5 says:

“Weeping may endure for a night, 
     but joy cometh in the morning.”

However, The Message puts it like this:

"The nights of crying your eyes out 
     give way to days of laughter.”

I’m counting on tomorrow being a day of laughter! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.