Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Banksia Pod.

     I thought I would put a shot up of the Banksia Pod which is what I am going to turn on the lathe for either short candle sticks or may be miniature lamps for my next project. I am including a brief overview of the Banksia nut. I hope you find this interesting.




Banksia pods originate from southwestern Australia. They grow on trees from the Banksia genus. However, of the many Banksia species, typically only the pods from the Bull Banksia (Banksia grandis) are large enough and solid enough to be used for woodturning applications. These pods are commonly compared to pine cones, though Banksia trees are not conifers and aren’t related to pine trees (Pinus genus)—the seed pod itself is considered the fruit of the tree.


     
     In the extra, I have taken another shot of the Jewelery box I have made. As you can see I have made some improvements on it and I feel it looks much better now. 
I was a bit hasty in blipping it initially, purely through excitement in getting it finnished. Please do have a look.


So much for doing some gardening today, as I am feeling unwell with pain from my condition. It has a habit of doing this occasionally. So a quiet day in. 


Hope you are all well and enjoying your weekend.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.