Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Signs on the Bridge

A short walk along an unfamiliar path ended up with me crossing this bridge over the M6 Toll. I was surprised to see this, along with 7 other identical signs at either end and over each carriageway. I’m sure others will have seen similar signs on bridges and I have no difficulty in understanding why they’re there, though I don’t think I’ve seen them on any of the other bridges that cross motorways in the locality.

I thought what I saw afterwards might explain why. In the extra image is a small memorial just a few feet from the end of the bridge; though it seems to memorialise three different people and some research failed to find any reference to a suicide on this motorway. A conundrum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.