Moving Day

I couldn't believe my Luck! Last week when I visited Sweetwater Wetlands Park here in beautiful (hot & humid) Gainesville, I noticed an area at the edge of one of the large ponds that was restricted and 'taped' off. Today I found out why. Earlier in the Summer a female American Alligator had constructed a nest and had laid her eggs in it. So today was the the BigDay. The baby 'gators were hatching! Momma 'Gator would haul herself out of the water, bury her snout in the nest and gently, very gently, use her huge mouth to pick up the just hatched baby 'gators. She also picked up an egg or two at a time and very carefully, she would crunch them so that the baby could break through the shell easier. She would then carry them to a more safe spot in the vegetation. We could hear the babies she had already moved but, of course, couldn't see them. The ranger told us that she had been at this labor of love since early morning. It was around 9:30am. The ranger said that she probably would be finished moving them in 2-3 hours more. Alligators are known to lay up to 60 eggs in one nest. Please take a look at today's *extras...1. Momma Gator reaching down into the nest after 'listening' for the cries of her young.
2. Picking up two eggs. look closely the baby gator is actually hatching as Mom has it's egg in her mouth. 3. Baby Gator in Mom's mouth. 4. Mom picking up one egg to crunch it and encourage the baby to hatch. 5. Two just hatched baby 'gators waiting for Mom's return. They'll hitch a ride either on her back or most likely in her mouth. Mom will guard and fiercely protect her offspring for a couple of years, until they are fully grown. I saw some of last years 'gator kids this morning and their yellow stripes were almost gone but Mom was still keeping her eyes on them. They were maybe 14-16 inches long. She must protect them from raccoon, large birds, turtles, and other alligators, especially the males!
I have lived all of my life with these creatures in the wild areas around me. But I have never witnessed this Moving Day event up close and personal. I'm so glad that I visited the Park today. How very fortunate I am! :) Happy Labor Day to all of my American Friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.