Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Murder on Monday

I took a walk outside early this morning to make sure that none of the azalea caterpillars were on the bushes I sprayed yesterday..they weren't but they were on the other bush at the end of the row where there was no sign at all yesterday!   Those red and yellow bad guys were having a feast!  So I murdered them and then sprayed the bush with bug stray and also the bush next to it that appeared to have none but I was not taking any chances.  

So then I walked to the backyard to check the other azaleas there..all clear...but by the back porch one of my zinnias was on the ground and a little chewed up.  Inspecting the plant..there it was..a tiny, tiny caterpillar.  So after making his photo, I murdered him.  I  sprayed these flowers with soapy water..hoping to keep my flowers blooming.   So then at the butterfly weed are a gazillion little yellow things..eggs or bugs..too tiny to tell.  I just rubbed it really good with my fingers and sprayed it with the soapy water.      

My camellia plant had white stuff under the leaves..since it is still a small bush I HAND WIPED all the white off every leaf with the soapy water.  This took a while!   I was soaked with sweat and very much aggravated with the creatures in my yard.    Then I happened to look over at the five year old Japanese maple I have been babying for all this time.   Worms in a bag on one of the limbs..dead now!     The oak tree limb had at least 100...I had Jerry to come out and chop off the limb as it was hanging low..those were crushed by the shovel.

I feel like a mass murderer without remorse.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.