It's not tomorrow yet

Thoroughly enjoyed reading through the Observer New Review yesterday; all edited by the poet Kate Tempest - I particularly liked the Seven Questions for Seven Poets section ...

... all prompted me to have another look through the pictured, and really excellent, 2014 collection by Tempest - and so, here's one of my favourties from within:


The Point

The days, the days they break to fade.
What fills them I'll forget.
Every touch and smell and taste.
This sun, about to set

can never last. It breaks my heart.
Each joy feels like a threat:
Although there's beauty everywhere,
its shadow is regret.

Still, something in the coming dusk
whispers not to fret.
Don't matter that we'll lose today.
It's not tomorrow yet.

 ---

Kate Tempest (1985 - )

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.