passremarkable

By passremarkable

Neologism?

First day back at the fun factory. After inhaling a sunny cycle (with some en route PD listening to Deutschlandfunk radio news), chewing over a morning of new-term information in the auditorium, and then snaffling a high-carb buffet lunch (a training day highlight), I sat down to contemplate the frame (see pic above) on my very messy work desk (last term's leftovers) - a thoughtful gift from my exiting 6th Formers. It was to immortalise a word I coined to help them remember where to lay the lexical stress on separable German verbs. 
The Second Edition of the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary contains full entries for 171,476 words in current use, and 47,156 obsolete words. 'Stresseparable' isn't in either group (yet). It needs widespread usage and staying power. Not holding my breath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.