passremarkable

By passremarkable

SUP

Some colleagues call today the 'final day of freedom' as tomorrow marks the much anticipated 'return to school', for teachers at least. For me, it will be the twentieth September start at my second home - so-called as I've spent so much time there over the years (even got locked in last term), although thankfully I'm not paying a mortgage and bills there.  I'm feeling positive to be returning to school because I've had one of the loveliest summer breaks that I can remember and the sun has temporarily blinded my recollection of the reality of the job, but I do love teaching and I work with some great friends and inspirational colleagues. Will I still be saying that once the term gets up and running?
To distract one of those friends and colleagues from the grand 'return' (and after I had ripped myself away from a Sunday morning of Netflix in my dressing gown), we had a SUP outing this afternoon. Once we had got over the exertion of inflating the boards (manual pump - ooooufff), the liquid sounds of the river were like a soothing balm applied straight to the soul. It is no surprise that I chose to spend all of this year's summer trips beside the sea or lakes or rivers. 
The SUP outing was followed by a favourite red Thai curry at The Wrestlers and a coconut pastel de nata that my sister & brother-in-law (who were celebrating their fifth wedding anniversary today) brought me back from the Big Smoke. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.