One click at a time

By KeithKnight

November Challenge - Five - Gaston's Refugio

Backblip for Day 17 of the November Daily Challenge - Five

This is an image that has been in my mind for some time. How does it tie in to the theme of 5? - well 5 lights were used in taking it :)

This was inspired by an image made by a friend of mine - Ben Hodson - of an old building in the grounds of Luton Hoo. However, I wanted to do this using Gaston's Refugio at the side of Buttermere, a little further away from my house than Luton Hoo, but on land with public access rather than private property.

On my way to a weeks photography with JohnGravett at Lakeland Photographic Holidays I have come up a day early for two things, this being one of them.

I used a 0.9 (3 stop) graduated ND filter to darken the sky, 2 "video" lights on stands inside the building to illuminate that and then had 3 flash guns which I ran around like a mad thing painting light onto the face of the building with (a total of 15 flashes). All done with a 2 shot multiple exposure of 25 secs each (total of 50 secs) and blended in the camera, which was on a tripod (well it wasn't going to float in mid-air was it?).

A bit of post-processing to produce the final image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.