One click at a time

By KeithKnight

November Challenge - Technology - Gone mad

Day 18 of the November Daily Challenge - Technology

For my week away I decided to hire a car for several reasons, a bigger boot, a bit of luxury and a wheel bearing that was noisy on my car (even though it had been fixed).

For the week I have a Vauxhall Astra 2.0 Diesel (makes life easy - my own car is a diesel). There's a bit of a difference between the 2 cars :) Technology has gone mad. As someone who has worked in maintenance it shouts one thing to me - too much to go wrong!

A lot of it is there with good intentions, but I found that either you end up not using it or that it was a potential distraction. It even tells you when it thinks you should change gear! - for that you have to be watching the panel, not the road. There is so much crammed into the dashboard that little essentials like the speedo are pushed to one side where the steering wheel blocks vision of it for any speeds above 60. I can't even see the temperature or fuel gauges, again the steering wheel blocks the view. Instead, I do get to see my fuel consumption, and my average speed which to me are a little less important, I'd rather know that I still have fuel and the engine isn't overheating.

Still, it all helps to sell the cars, and lots of spares afterwards, as well as making sure you have to go to the dealer for certain bits of work.

Some pictures from Saturday and Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.