Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Blipping flowers - or not

This morning I went to the opening day of Winchester Cathedral's Illumination: a festival of flowers, to give it its correct title.  I have never been to this festival before.  What can I say?  It was staggering (any blipper who's thinking of going, I'd recommend you do).  So why have I come away with simply a mono shot of an older face?  I'm not quite sure.  All I can say is, I think I'm the wrong blipper to do the festival justice.

As it was soon after opening, the cathedral was packed.  Visitors, cameras, and hundreds of elderly ladies clinging on to each other discussing how many cups of tea they could drink before they peed.  So many sensational set pieces to absorb; colours, structures, lights, scents and symbolism.  And yes, sensory overload.

So it was that the only image I took which made much sense to me was this quiet moment.  Another photographer contemplating her next shot, in wonderful natural cathedral light. 

And I do hope we see some flower shots of the event here on blip so I know next time how it's done!

Happy Wednesday evening  xx

WildflowerWeek - WFW12
Hearts later tonight will go (in no particular order) to:
Admirer
Loisbiz
Kimb
Osuzanna
Plenitude

and Honourable Mentions to:
LesleyAlsford
AngelsShare
Freyjad
Evolybab
dfb24

and many thanks to all of you who entered.
This week, as you know, we're on to WFW13 - keep those entries coming in ;))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.