Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

What are they looking at?

Another day
Another town
Another boat
But the same lake!

Today is another beautiful sunny day, a bit hotter than yesterday. So what can a girl do, but drop everything and just enjoy it?!

A short train trip of about 15 minutes took me to the lakeside town of Vevey. This is the town that I first lived in when I came to the French-speaking part of Switzerland as a young woman. It has grown much bigger now, but I still love the old pedestrian part of town with its cobbled streets and quaint boutiques. I have many memories here. The lake is rather wonderful too!

Lake Léman is 73 km long (45 miles) and 14 km (8.7 miles) wide at its widest point. So there are many towns, both big and small that can boast a lakeside position. 

A detail: I once met Sir Charles Chaplin walking alone in the main street and went up to him to ask if he was indeed Charlie Chaplin. For some reason, he didn't seem very pleased at being recognized. He lived in a very lovely villa with large grounds with his much younger wife, Oona and their eight children. The beautiful old home has now been transformed into a wonderful museum. I had the pleasure of visiting it last year with my grandson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.