Is This Dartmoor?

It seems to be an unusual week. I noticed it on Monday when we went into Teignmouth with the kids. There were very few families with most schools starting this week and there didn't seem to be many of the wrinkl senior generation who tend to come after the families yet. It was the same when I got up onto the moor. My route into the eastern moor takes me through Bovey Tracey and up to Haytor. I was surpised to see few cars in the first car park at the Visitor Centre. There didn't seem to be anybody on top of the rocks either so I thought I'd take advantage of the opportunity to pay a rare visit. I like Hay Tor but I don't go there very often because there are always so many people there at any time of the year. I remember hearing a local person saying that people come to Haytor, climb on the rocks and think they've seen Dartmoor.  The national park covers 368 square miles and a great deal of variation throughout.

Anyway, it was great to have a walk around the different parts of the rocks in glorious weather and 'weather' is the theme for the Wideangle Wednesday Challenge (hosted by BobsBlips). I suppose it would have been great to have had a dramatic thunder storm with lightning bolts but that's not happening today.

There was some good fair weather cloud which responded well to the wideangle lens, radiating out from the rocks.

I'm sure there are many people who have good memories of blipper, Tim, the Sarum Stroller and his fine photography. I hadn't had much contact with him over the winter but I've learned recently that he's been very ill. It seems to be a sudden and aggressive liver and bowel cancer and he's living in a hospice for end of life care without much knowlege of the time he has left. He seems to lack the stamina to hold his camera, let alone indulge in the extensive walking that he habitually did.

It seems that the camera club he used to belong to in Salisbury is planning an exhibition in his honour and I'll endeavour to pass on more detail as I learn more. He has agreed to me passing this on to you and I felt people would want to know as we all tend to wonder about lapsed blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.