5 Years Jamming

We celebrated the fact that our Thursday acoustic jam has been running for five years now in the Old Workshop at Redrock Brewery. I haven't been going all that time, I think I resisted for about 6 weeks or maybe a couple of months, thinking it wouldn't be my sort of thing as I've always been an electric and PA sort of guy. I have thoroughly enjoyed it every week since I have been attending, it's a wonderful relaxed evening with such a variety of music and different every week.

We all celebrated differently tonight, some telling stories of their first time and other newer folks just getting on with the music. Sometimes, if there's a little time left over after everyone's performed I might be asked to lead a jam and tonight that happened. I decided that 'Sloop John B' would be a good one with opportunity for everyone. We had a piano accordian, several guitars, a harmonica and a ukelele. Sadly, John broke a string on his banjo earlier (that's a great sound, hehe) so that didn't come into it. Lots of vocalists and audience joined in as well and we finished with a rousing chorus.

I would like to have put up an image of John Morey, who was the person whose idea it was in the first place, but that one didn't come out so well. The lighting is fairly poor and I don't like using flash in those circumstances. My blip is Phil who plays some lovely old delta blues numbers and has a great blues voice too. Here's to the next five years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.