The Shipwright's Arms

Oare marshes first to see what was around. A lone avocet dabbling in amongst the lapwings, golden plovers, godwits, and bits and bobs. Then to the Shipwright's for a bite to eat.

First time I've been here but what a smashing pub. Casks of beer on a stillage behind the bar, lots of comfy chairs and nautical bric a brac and a really cosy feel. Unfortunately I was driving so I couldn't try a pint of Goacher's but I plan to convince someone (anyone) that they should drive me over there for a beer or two. In the extras there is a shot of the high water mark in 2013 as well as a map showing that the pub is tucked at the end of a lane well away from houses and traffic and the world. Anyone in the area should take a look - it's a proper old-style pub with no jukebox or fruit machines but bags of character and tremendous views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.