HareBrain

By HareBrain

In the mood

I should have been doing two things today but didn't do either:-

1. I didn't play my saxophone with the Shrewsbury Band I play in which were giving their annual concert in our town for charity, although I did attend. This is one of the Daves in the band. He plays a mean trombone in our band and also plays in the Shrewsbury Brass Band (used to be Sabrina Brass for the locals amongst you!). Our band is essentially a showband made up of either adults who used to play musical instruments as children and then re-started as adults, or adults who took up playing in later life - I am a cross between the two as I played piano as a child and then took up the sax in my mid 60's. The band play a very mixed bag of music ranging from a bit of Glenn Miller (love this), show tunes such as compilations from Les Mis, Phantom of the Opera, Pirates of the Carribean etc. etc. to Beatles, Abba, Chicago, bit of blues, waltzes and marches - yes, a very mixed bag. The concert was good and it certainly got me in the mood and it was great to see all my pals again. I shall dust off the sax and start back at rehearsals in the New Year with new enthusiasm. My real dream would have been to play sax in a blues/rock/metal band, but hey, think I have left this somewhat late in life!

2. T bought me a birthday present of a "Skid Pan Experience". First off we lost the Voucher but the nice lady from Oswestry kindly found it on the net (help for seniors!) and my date for going on the skid pan was today at 1.30pm. Of course, not being able to drive at the moment I couldn't do it but they have kindly given me an extension of time so I will have this little adventure to look forward to in the future sometime??!!

But I did have another fabulous walk this morning through very frosty meadows and lovely woodlands so have had a perfect day really..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.