bananablip

By bananablip

HTH

My new plan for this term is to go outside and have a walk at lunchtime, maybe even take the camera, instead of eating lunch at my desk. Looking outside at lunchtime today, with the rain on the turn from mizzling to downright minging, I decided instead to stick my camera out the window again.

(On a positive note, I did eat lunch from a bowl instead of a lunchbox, sat down with an Ellie to eat and didn’t look at my phone once).

Anyway, the picture from my office window is from the street that I was once lucky enough to live on, ‘Wyle Cop’. Shamefully though, I really don’t know much about the Cop. Take for instance that ‘Wyle’ is Medieval English for hill and Cop means simply ‘top of’. All news to me. It’s unfortunate that the building pictured is called Henry Tudor House, as when googling Henry Tudor House the majority of the search results contain information about the pub with the same name, located just underneath. Finally locating some information confirmed what I already vaguely new about the building, that Henry Tudor (or Henry 7th) stayed there in 1485 on his way to the battle of Bosworth Field. I also learned that the passage running underneath Henry Tudor House, ‘Barracks Passage’ is so named because Henry’s military men stayed in the rooms underneath the main house.

This little lunchtime task has made me realise how little I know about my town which is pretty shameful. I’m really not into history and know little about times and dates of anything significant, but I really should know a few facts about my hometown. I feel a blip series coming on. One that is sure to highlight my absolute ignorance.

Started back with Food Club this evening and the young people were an absolute delight. We made Mexican scrambled eggs with chorizo and potato in wraps. They were demolished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.