bananablip

By bananablip

St. Mary's Church

The current combination of varying my cycling routes to work and seeking out significant Shrewsbury landmarks for my blip is making me love my town even more than I thought I did. My ride this morning took me swerving past Year 7s on Roman Road, breezing through the Kingsland Mansions and then winding through Swan Hill and Milk Street, waving at TJC and his colleagues who looked liked they’d just been feasting on a huge breakfast, judging by the smiles on their faces. 

In contrast to yesterday, which turned very quickly to grey and murky, today has been all about the glorious blue skies. I took a picture of the front of St Mary’s Church before I realised that I had no card in my camera and so had to go back later and decided on a shot from the back instead. 

I’m sure there are lots of fascinating facts about St Mary’s, possibly the majority to do with the Stained Glass Windows that are pictured here, depicting the Jesse Tree.

My favourite facts (fables? myths?) about St Mary’s Church are as follows:

Just inside the main church building, if you look up to the right, there is a small cave which has no steps leading up to it. According to the lady who showed me around the church once, this was the home of a hermit. Ladders would be placed against the wall to allow the hermit in and then removed so that the hermit couldn’t leave. I’m not sure about anyone else, but to me this seems like an idilic existence, especially presuming that food would be brought to you at regular intervals. Dreamy.

Secondly, there is a plaque outside of the church to commemorate the (foolish) Thomas Cadman who, in 1739, tried to zip-line on a board strapped to a rope from the church spire and over the River Severn. Unsurprisingly, he didn’t make it. Thankfully though, The Shropshire Brewer now have a beer named after old Cadman, The Rope Slider, which is just delicious. Thank you, Cadman.

The plaque writes:

“Let this small monument record the name
of Cadman and to future times proclaim
How by’n attempt to fly from this high spire
Across the Sabrine Stream he did acquire
Hi fatal end. ’Twas not for want of skill
or courage to perform the task he fell:
No, no, a faulty cord being drawn too tight
Hurried his Soul to high to take her flight 
which bid the Body here beneath good Night.
February 2nd 1739. Aged 28”

Brilliant. 

Today we were back at Mary Webb School and it was brilliant to be greeted by some old students and some new. Especially nice was the even warmer welcome by some of our favourite staff members. 

In other news, I’ve learned that my friend who I am supposed to be running with on Sunday is feeling ill and might not be able to make it. I’ve never been so delighted to hear of a friend’s illness before. Don’t judge me.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.