Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Iconic Whitby Abbey

In Whitby today ready for tomorrow morning's dawn shoot.

I was in time for the sunset, but it was a damp squib, with the sun behind heavy cloud and no lovely warm light on the Abbey or St Mary's Church. I was able to take some night shots of the town. The amusement arcades provide a lot of coloured reflections in the water. By the time I walked to my car it was dark and I had a go at this iconic view. It would be better to shoot from low down, but that would entail climbing a high wall, so this is a tripod shot taken high above my head. See more shots here.

Back in town I found a fish restaurant called Mr Chip with a good menu and good food. The prawn cocktail was the best I've had. Remember the prawn cocktails, Mateus Rose and Rieslings and the Black Forest Gateaux of the 60/70s? Someone must have triggered nostalgic thoughts.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.