JoeyG

By JoeyG

St Paul’s & The Planets

As I’m not far from Londinium this week, when I found out there were tickets available to watch an organist perform Holst’s The Planets within St Paul’s Cathedral (where Holst used to teach) I jumped at it.

I’m not religious at all, but I love religious buildings; I couldn’t help but light a candle each for Mum and Nan as I entered. I think it’s a beautiful thing to do.

I almost didn’t make it as I had a recurrence of illness today and slept the afternoon away - but I gathered myself in time and was glad of it. The evening began with a recorded message direct from an astronaut on the ISS. There was a large screen with visual imagery of the corresponding planets accompanying the live music that followed.

By the time we’d heard each piece in Holst’s Opus the ISS would have entirely circled our planet.

Awe inspiring.

I have a week left down South and the longer I stay the more apparent it becomes to me that I miss it. I’m leaning towards another move. The seaside is lovely but there is life here. Vibrancy. I need that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.