Plus ça change...

By SooB

Mendel (and Small Fish)

It seemed a while since I had caught you up with the fish, and it is definitely not just that I forgot (again, again, again) to take a photo in daylight. Here they are patiently waiting for tonight’s treat: you might think they were hoping for shrimp or red worms, but surprisingly their top choice is peas. So I’m sure they were delighted to see that tonight’s menu was sausage, mash, onion gravy and peas (yes, they only get the peas, and yes I cook extra for them). The small fish has a name, which is either Plif or Plouf. Sadly I can’t keep fixed in my head which of the two of them died, so to avoid hurting TallGirl’s feelings, the small one is always Small Fish to me.

Busy work morning, with pleasant cheese buying interlude (oh boy that new pink peppercorn tomme is awesome), and less pleasant shouting (restrainedly) at CarbBoy’s school when they wouldn’t let him go to his appointment. A firmly worded note has been written. They won’t get the sarcasm, but I do and that’s the main thing.

An Outlook calendar confusion over time zones meant my 1pm call was at midday and TallGirl spent an hour sitting in the street waiting for me (oops). Steak lunch compensated.

Later, afternoon drinks with a pal, the aforementioned dinner, ER, and a long-overdue chat with my mam.

Now I am mainly overdue for sleep. Weekend away starts tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.