passremarkable

By passremarkable

Deluge

I think it was May half-term when I started cycling to work, having moved a couple of months earlier (selling my home of 12 years in a village outside C. to buy a shoe box of a flat near to my sister in T., on the outskirts of C) thus enabling the shortened bike-safe commute. Still with me?
So, today was the first time that I actually had to cycle home in the rain. This rain was no mizzle or drizzle or shower or downpour. I exaggerate not when I use the word deluge. 
I now know that my shower-proof jacket is just that and no more, and I consider myself reminded that (if rain is forecast) I shouldn't just lock my bike helmet to the bike unless I want to my saturation levels to shoot off the charts. Wet weather cycling is undoubtedly more treacherous than fair weather cycling because of puddles at the side of the road (masking those pesky potholes) and diminished brake efficacy, but I laughed when, upon arrival home, I was able to wring out my trousers, twice or thrice their usual weight because of all the water retention. I took a pic of my rainy helmet and glasses (above) once I had dried off. For some reason the pic reminds me of The Stig, King of the Road, rather than of The Drowned Rat, Princess of the Pedals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.