Hygienic

As it's the new trend for dentists' surgeries to milk more money out of patients, the hygienist was recommended to me and I crumbled and went today.

Undergoing dental work is an odd experience. It's not natural to hold the mouth open for such a long time. It's goes against bodily instincts to hold it agape whilst teeth are being scraped, gaps flossed, gums prodded, saliva sucked and lips daubed in Vaseline.

I had never known that using mouthwash directly after brushing was not advised. It washes away the fluoride. For the same reason, after brushing we're all supposed to spit but not rinse our mouths out. Although my gums were left smarting, I acquired some useful knowledge.

However I was left wondering why dental surgeries are always piping music by the likes of Simply Red. Mick Hucknall annoys some people; it wouldn't be soothing.

Two meetings in the evening. One with the refugee support group where I had to regretfully inform everyone that when I move overseas I won't be able to continue as a trustee. The other was with our nascent residents' association in the building.

The guy who has appointed himself (which is very welcome) block spokesperson was describing how best to force the management company to raise their standards. He said that companies like John Lewis are successful because they treat customers well, whereas companies like Debenhams fare more poorly, because they don't. Cue some classic British awkwardness when one of the residents admitted he works for Debenhams.

Meanwhile, as we gassed at lunchtime, Dan ate a piece of cucumber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.