Papal visit

Long distance air travel enables one to ponder more of those riveting questions about human and corporate behaviour.

Why would cabin crew so earnestly wake people up to ‘join us for brunch’ for those same bleary-eyed people to be presented with a cold block of bland egg. It’s hardly smashed avocado on sourdough and a strong cup of Guatemalan bean, and is bound to disappoint.

On arrival back in Maputo I wondered whether I’d be able to get to my apartment. I’d received notice of a strict road closure regime relating to the Pope’s current visit. As it happened my trusty tuk-tuk driver Paulo was in the know and navigated me back with aplomb.

The Pope is not pictured. Instead it’s the familiar Qatar Airways safety video steward, known for always remembering to pout whilst manually inflating his lifejacket in an emergency.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.