Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Endless Blip Opportunities!

I had to leave home at 6:15 today for a 6:30 start at a job to help ex-employer out. As I drove, I thought, "I could have blipped a sunrise" (first for me!! Not a morning person).

My work was at the Hyatt Regency and once I had all the delegates registered and in their training room, I set out with my camera to capture this rather pleasant and stylishly furnished hotel. I could have got to the top of their Revolving Restaurant to get some aerial views but it doesn't open till 12pm.

Got home by 11am and enjoyed the light coming through the front room. Then went out to get a few things done. First stop was my step-mum's flat. Her dog Tass is extremely unwell and Pauline has had to make the toughest decision any dog owner has to make. I could have blipped Tass but he is far to sick.

We headed to the Creek. Well, Gold Souk really. We were on a mission! Our carpark of choice is a large multi-storey carpark along the Creek where if you wind your way right to the top, you get these stunning views of original Dubai.

There are SO MANY photo opps here, it really was hard to choose. Here is my alternative for today. Looking the other way from the picture above. I can't tell you how much I love this part of Dubai. It's one of the things that keeps me here.

You may remember some of the buildings from previous blips. The building which says ROLEX has a picture of our Crown Prince. We are getting ready for our 41st National Day (2nd December). Go large to take in all the activity of the cargo ships (dhows), the water taxis (abras), the Dinner Cruise ship, the lights on the Municipality building...

We then walked down and had to go through the Spice Souk, so stopped for a fresh juice. Got a brilliant pic of the Souk area (also decorated for National Day). I had to refrain from taking pics at the Spice Souk. It was all getting too much. Finally made it to the Gold Souk and there is always plenty to blip there, but I didn't get my camera out of the bag! That's for another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.