Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Gisborne Cockroach

Ewww! I nearly stood on it. The cockroach was sitting on the concrete path and I did some fancy footwork avoiding it. Curiosity won as it didn't look like a run of the mill cockroach, so I went and got the camera.

The Insect Book identified it very quickly with the broad cream stripes down the sides. Apparently common in timber arriving from West Australia, it was first seen in Gisborne in the North Island but now found from Northland to Nelson.

It likes to come indoors ( not if I can help it ) and has been found both live and cooked on car engines. The book goes on to say it is thought to get around the country mostly by car. Doesn't that bring a funny picture to mind.

There is a side and  enlarged view of the head of the cockroach in the extras for those who are interested.

Tomorrow I will be returning to weekend blipping while I continue with my course. I am onto the 'Mindfulness' section now. As time permits I hope to visit your journals and leave a star, heart or brief comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.