Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Water In The Ear

BIG EAR.

I'd recently noticed many small, fallen, well seasoned branches among the trees around the edge of my paddock. Since I've brought my wood-burner back into action this winter I decided I may as well make use of the wood - no way would I get enough to see me through the winter, but it will add to the larger logs I buy in and make them last longer. So today I set to with my saw, and spent a couple of hours cutting some of the thinner ones into usable lengths. It dawned on me that if I can hire a small chainsaw for a day I'll also get some decent sized logs from there too - and yes, I HAVE used a chainsaw before, fear not! Most of us rural lasses ain't faint-hearted, swooning weaklings! On one of the branches I cut up, there was a cluster of these Jew's Ears (Auricularia auricula-judae), full of dew from the early morning - so I blipped as well as acquiring wood for my heating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.