Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

The things one finds....

...when one moves. I knitted this Fair Isle vest years ago. It surfaced while I was cleaning out my closet and is now several sizes too big. Not because I have gotten smaller (I haven't) but because fashion was apparently bigger. I took it to show my friend Kim, who owns a very fashionable dress shop. She looked at it for a minute, whipped it off me and put it back on upside down It looked wonderful but since I haven't mastered a split screen photo yet I put it on our Orkney chair for a picture.

When we were visiting Lady Findhorn and His Lordship many years ago I told her that I had always wanted an Orkney chair. She immediately found an Orcadian chair maker via the internet and offered to call him for me. (She said we would never be able to understand him...) She organized the transaction and the shipment and about two months later our postman cane staggering up our front steps with a very large cardboard wrapped, chair shaped parcel completely covered with postage stamps! It has lived in our breakfast room ever since. Now we don't have a breakfast room so I think it will live in our bedroom.

Ou amazing #1 Daughter appeared this morning and has been unpacking boxes and shifting furniture all day. I do not know how she does it but she is a treasure beyond price today...I must go make her stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.