Sunday morning early

I was up at 5.45 and on my way an hour later when I took this shot of the usually-thronged Flask Walk in Hampstead (previously blipped here).

Paddington Station was almost completely deserted when I reached it at 7.30, platforms empty, shops closed.

The farmland of middle England seemed populated only by sheep and cows as the train chugged along some under-used Sunday route through the Gloucestershire countryside,made lustrous by unbroken but unreachable sunshine.

By the time I reached at Port Talbot the sky had clouded over and raindrops were falling on my head.
Train connection missed, an unheated rattle-trap of a taxi completed the journey to Fishguard and I reached home at 14.45.

12 hours later I am still up - WHY?




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.