passremarkable

By passremarkable

Sunday

It has been a long time since I spent a Sunday morning in bed finishing an un-put-down-able novel, but this morning was such a morning. Maggie O'Farrell's 'This must be the place' is September's choice for our book group and, after reading quite a few duds this year, this one was right up my street. I have even finished it in good time for once, ahead of next Friday's gathering, although at the expense of marking some work. Over the years I have finely honed my procrastination skills, and they were already pretty damn fine to begin with. Really nothing to brag about. Means that I had to spend some time this afternoon marking work and still have more to accomplish before tomorrow. I try to trick myself into thinking that I'm doing something social instead of solitary by installing myself in Waitrose cafe (blocking out the sound of my fellow tea-drinkers' conversations with the sounds of 104.6 RTL Berlins Hit-Radio in my ears). I do quite like working (once I get started) when I'm surrounded by other people. Pity I didn't make it to Waitrose until  2.30pm and it closes at 4pm... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.