A quiet day

Roses Dad picked this morning.

A quiet day was needed by all today. The hospital phoned to see how Mum is this morning. She's doing well. I mentioned I found Mum's discharge notes but no post-op care information. The nurse I spoke to wasn't impressed but at least they're in the mail.

Jennie my sister arrived at lunch time. Good to see her.

Time spent this afternoon sorting Mum's pain relief. Post-op notes would have helped but we're onto it now. While Dad and I waited for a prescription at the Chemists I took him along the road to the bike shop.

Dad has wanted a bike for ages. There a lots of reasons why he shouldn't have a bike but there is no harm in looking right?

He took a nice second hand bike for a ride and returned with a huge grin on his face. I couldn't say "well that was fun wasn't it? You can't have it". Instead I said "I think it's a good bike, the price is good and you'll need a helmet".

Yes, there are risks. But when you're 85 I think you should have a bike even if you haven't ridden one for a long time. At least I don't have kids to boss me round when I'm elderly and want to ride bikes and head to the mountains ;-)

It gets a service overnight and mud guards fitted.

I've unleashed a monster ;-) You go Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.