Dexter: Pardon Me, But Could You Cover Me?

I have spoken before on these pages about the migration patterns of the greater North American tabbycat. In the summer, Dexter takes most of his naps in a box overlooking the deck. But when the temperatures go down, he heads for a blanket on my chair in the living room. We've had heavy rain for several days, and the thermometer did indeed drop.

This was the scene when I came upon Dexter the Tabby around noon on Sunday. He had just had his lunchies, and he was sitting on a purple blanket on my chair, looking up beseechingly, hoping desperately that someone would come by and give him a "tuv" (or cover).

Oh, of course, I did exactly what his eyes were asking me to do: I grabbed a big, fuzzy, purple blanket, and lightly put it over him on the chair. His very important Sunday afternoon nap would later be interrupted by a quest for meat (ham and scalloped potatoes being on the menu for Sunday dinner), but he quickly snagged his ham, ate it expeditiously, and returned to his spot under the blankie.  :-)

The soundtrack song: Bruce Springsteen, with Cover Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.