Penn State: Have You Ever Seen the Rain?

I don't know if you've seen any news about the weather lately, but it's been raining cats and dogs in Pennsylvania. We had three days of mostly solid, drenching rain, interspersed with thunder storms and drizzles. It was starting to remind me of Hurricane Sandy, from a few years back.

I'd be surprised if we didn't all develop webbed feet soon. And what was that loud pounding sound from the yard? What, you say the rabbits are building an ark?  ;-)

Umbrellas were out in full force when I was on campus on Monday, and I took a few minutes to stand on the steps of Pattee Library and watch the umbrella parade. It was a fun, sort of zen thing to do: lots of standard black and blue-and-white umbrellas, of course (this being Penn State and all). But with some pretty reds and pinks and greens and other shades sprinkled in too.

I took a bunch of photos, but oddly enough, this sort of blurry shot became my instant favorite. As I sometimes do on rainy days, I boosted the color saturation to cheer things up a bit. The camera somehow decided to focus on the raindrops themselves instead of the umbrellas.

This shot reminded me of how it really feels to be out in a heavy rain: your head is under your umbrella, you're trudging along, and if you look up, all you see is the rain, and the colorful blurs of people passing by.

The soundtrack song: Have You Ever Seen the Rain, the classic, performed by Creedence Clearwater Revival; and an excellent cover version by Joan Jett.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.