The Supper Club Files

By SupperGuru

Day Eight - Anitpodean Supper

I received an email this morning with an offer for another of Beachlander's delicious supper recipes. Because she is in another hemisphere it means they have already had supper today so I can get this up nice and early and maybe inspire some of you for tonight!!!

Seeing as I was planning left-overs this was a timely email indeed!



This is an Annabel Langbein recipe from her book The Best Of Annabel Langbein, Great food for busy lives.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Potatoes and Rosemary

Small potatoes, scrubbed and halved (enough to feed the hoards at the table)
2 large red onions, cut in wedges
1 red pepper, seeded and cut into small chunks (I used 2, one yellow and one orange)
2 tbsp oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed (I used more and just chop them roughly)
1 tsp chopped rosemary leaves
salt and pepper
chicken quarters/drum sticks...with bone in (enough to feed the hoards at the table)
juice of 2 lemons

Preheat oven to 200 degrees C.
Choose a baking dish that will fit the chicken in a single layer.
Place potatoes, onions and peppers in dish with oil, garlic and rosemary. Mix to combine evenly. Season with salt and pepper and bake for 30 minutes.
Place chicken skin side up on top of vegetables, season with more salt.
Sprinkle zest over chicken and squeeze juice of lemon over chicken.
Bake a further 25-30 minutes or until the chicken is golden and cooked through.

Well recommended, passed the bone suck test, and the small person test too. I loved how it looked with all the colour. I accompanied it with a green salad, but as I'd run out of tomatoes, I went to the fruit bowl and chopped some apple and orange.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.